Salem Sowdeswari College
Salem Sowdeswari College
   About College   
History of College
Salem Sowdeswari College (SSC) was founded in 1975 by Dr. J.K.K. Angappa Chettiar and Amarar Thiru. T.N.K. Govindaraju Chettiar, under the management of Sri Sowdeswari Mahajana Charitable Trust.


SSC was declared open on 14.07.1975 by the Founder Chairman Amarar Thiru. T.N.K. Govindaraju Chettiar, an eminent Philanthropist-Industrialist from Madras and by the Vice Chairman, Secretary and Managing Trustee, Thiru. J.K.K.Angappa Chettiar, another eminent Philanthropist-Industrialist from Komarapalayam.

The foundation stones for the right wing building to accommodate degree courses were laid by his Excellency Thiru.K.K.Shaw, then Governor of Tamilnadu on 17.11.1975. The right wing and left wing buildings were declared open, by the then Chairman Amarar Thiru. T.N.K. Govindaraju Chettiar, under the Presidency of Thiru.J.K.K.Angappa Chettiar, Chairman, Managing Trustee and Secretary on 7.6.1976 and 12.6.1977 respectively. The first floor of the right and left wing buildings and the J.K.Kandasamy Chettiar, Memorial Main Building were declared open by Amarar Dr.Rajah Sir.Muthiah Chettiar, Rajah of Chettinad and pro-chancellor, Annamalai University on 23.6.1978.

Over the years generous grants & donations from members of the society and philanthropists have helped in the c onstruction of  buildings and ancillary infrastructure. SSC obtained recognition from The University Grants Commission, New Delhi in the year 1980. Since then, SSC has been qualified under Sec 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, being eligible to receive grants from the Central Government of India.

Starting 1975-76 SSC (Aided) commenced functioning with 80 students in pre-university courses with commerce as the main subject of study. SSC was upgraded in 1976 with ‘grant of affiliation’ from University of Madras, following which ,new courses were introduced.
  • 1976 - B.Com. and B.A. (Corp. Sec)
  • 1977 - B.A (Eco.) and B.Sc. (Stat)
  • 1978 - B.Sc. (Chem.) and B.Sc. (Physics)
  • 1979 - B.A (Eng Lit)
  • 1984 - M.Com. and M.Sc. (Stat)

Today, SSC (Aided) has strength of ~1000 students and 55 staff.

SSC – Self Financing Courses Wing (SFCW) commenced functioning in 1992, with 25 students and 10 staff members. Today, as a result of hard work and attention to detail SSC (SFCW) has ~1650  students and 90 staff members.

Below are a list of currently available courses and their year of starting.
  • 1992 – B.Sc. (Computer Science)
  • 1993 – B.B.M., B.Com (Elec. Banking) and M.C.A (AICTE Approved)
  • 2001 – B.C.A, B.Com(CA), and M.Sc. (SS)
  • 2002 – B.Com, B.Sc.(EC), B.B.A, M.Com (CA) and M.Sc. (Physics)
  • 2003 – B.Sc.(Maths), M.Sc. (Maths) and M.A.(Eng)
  • 2005 – M.Sc.(EC)
  • 2006 – B.Sc. (TFD), B.Sc.(Chemistry), M.B.A and M.Com
  • 2009 – B.A. (English)

In the year 1997, the State Government of TamilNadu through a Government Order  , transferred all colleges in Salem, Namakkal, Rasipuram and Dharmapuri districts to the newly created Periyar University, Salem. Accordingly, affiliation to all courses of SSC obtained until then were transferred to Periyar University.